Day 5

Before I get into today’s post, below, which comes to you video-style, as I’ll do once a week on the Sundays to follow, I wanted to share a cartoon that comes from Jim Kohl over at brewerycomic.com. I’m pleased to announce that the fellas over at brewerycomic’s early speculation of how the fast would proceed turn out to be completely wrong, as I’m not chewing on anything but the occasional fingernail, now that Day 5 has arrived.

Since I recorded the video, I took time to weigh myself, and was happy to see that I had only dropped to 149, losing only a pound and a half since yesterday, and some 11 pounds total (yesterday was worrisome, as I dropped five in one day).

Cheers, all. Here’s the vid:

About Wilson

J. Wilson is an award-winning homebrewer, BJCP judge and pretty good dad. View all posts by Wilson

9 responses to “Day 5

  • splendid

    Love that you are doing this and keeping us informed, just finished reading EAT PRAY LOVE and the spiritual journey that you have embarked on will change your life of this I have no doubt! I have always been curious about this annual custom and truthfully I am amazed and fascinated that you are undertaking this. Know that many people are sending you love and light to help get you through. Namaste

  • Jim

    Both as a fellow believer and as a fellow beer lover, I’m praying for you man. This is awesome. I’ve actually really struggled with my desire for beer, not to get drunk, just the wonderful flavors of beer. I belong to an evangelical church where the Pastor says “now I’m not saying drinking is bad per say, but I choose not to, why take the chance”. So that resonates and turns into guilt every time I’m enjoying a delicious pilsner. So thanks for the history lesson, and I’ll be checking in everyday.

  • Part timer

    Just gave up drinking for lent and while looking to see how long left I found you. I love Bocks but was always curious about the Monk connection and fasting. I’m looking forward to watching how you get on and listening to your thoughts.
    I think it is a great idea and for sure Bock will keep you safe. The naysayers don’t seem to be talking from experience. Anyway best on luck and if nothing else you’ll show the hysterical critics that drinking and the path to ruin do not go hand in hand. Like you said it’s all about desire, need and control. That said, drink has caused a lot of misery to a lot of people, but so has religion (not god I might add). I’m going to drink bock in your honor on Easter!
    All the best to you.

  • Samuel

    Forget the haters. You know the reasons why you are doing this and that’s all that matters. You don’t need to explain yourself to anyone.

    I (as a beer and history lover) appreciate you sharing your experiences here. I feel it will be a very interesting and informative forty-one days to come.

    Good luck. Enjoy the beer and your thoughts. I’ll be following along.

  • Stefanie

    I’m glad you were able to take time to yourself and your family. Just like work, the distractions of everyday life can really take it’s toll on someone mentally and physically. But your amplified background “noise” is seemingly only going to get worse. Make time for the people immediately surrounding you and supporting you through this, but also make time for yourself. Because in the end… it’s about you and your journey through this. I’m just glad you’re letting us look on.

  • Erik the Red

    Wislon, I journeyed for 4 days and then broke the fast on Sunday. I contemplated this a lot, as I didn’t have any physical needs that required it, but I’m a newlywed and I never told my wife, as she has had my social schedule jammed packed with dinner obligations. So that was an interesting conversation. She’s like your wife, encouraging, supportive and understanding. As the fasting is more about the heart and the spirit for me, I’m back on as of Sunday evening. Hopefully, I don’t recycle the headaches, outside of that, by Saturday afternoon, things were great. I’m drinking a Dopple Bock from Sprecher Brewery. I live in Milwaukee. If you want to trade cases let me know. I’m in Des Moines on Friday visiting friends for the weekend of basketball games. You may need a subtle change of flavor. God Bless you man.

  • Jim

    I’m glad you made it to Day 5 with all limbs in tact, I never had any doubt.

  • CHIP

    KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. (ALMOST SAID SPIRITS!) IT IS A NOBLE CAUSE. LIKE OTHERS, I HAVE GIVEN UP BEER (AND ALL ALCOHOL) FOR LENT. YOUR IDEA IS BETTER. I WILL FOLLOW YOU WITH GREAT INTEREST AS A PREP FOR LENT NEXT YEAR.

    CAN YOU PLAY WITH YOUR KIDS, SHOOT HOOPS AND/OR PLAY GOLF WITH THE ENERGY YOU HAVE?

    I AM SURE YOU OFTEN BE IN MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS THIS LENT.

  • Bill Farr

    Hi,

    Best of fortune with this, and I hope the reflection and sacrifice lead to insight. We met years back at a Great Taste and have traded thoughts on the Beermapping forum once or twice. I was wondering how you decided on your caloric intake? I could understand 1,200 – 1,500 calories if you were sedentary, but you seem to be living a fairly active life. Perhaps not as much as when you ran the restaurant, but definitely you have full days. What drove the decision for ~1,200 calories on weekdays and ~1,500 on weekends rather than, say, ~1,800 daily?

    I was also wondering about a lack of “complete” protein — does the yeast fill in some of the gaps that the barley doesn’t have?

    It’s a noble journey you’re on — best wishes for it, and for what follows!

Leave a Reply

