Day 9

Today was another exercise in moving my beers around to accommodate the real world. It may have been the first time I had a beer before sunrise without having first stayed up the entire night before. In any case, I made it through and am reasonably back on schedule. Yesterday and today I have found myself a little tired in the afternoons, but all things considered, I’d say I feel like a champ.

I’ve decided once and for all that I’m ditching out of the morning radio circuit, because I don’t have time for that. And possibly the energy, if only the mental kind. It’s the same basic speech, but managing the appointments alone is a hassle. I’ll fulfill what I have scheduled through Monday and then I’m done with that until the fast is over. I was surprised that the requests were so persistent, but here I am on Day Nine thinking there’s surely a real news item for these guys to follow.

Today is St. Patrick’s Day, and I could probably technically break the fast, but instead of stout and corned beef and cabbage–which sounds delicious–I’ll stick with doppelbock. If you’re wondering if I’m getting tired of it, the answer leans in the affirmative. When it’s all said and done, I’ll surely take a break from beer for a couple of days and then launch into a raucous round of polygamy.

I weighed in at 147 today for those keeping score at home, and despite that afternoon fatigue (which I get on a normal diet from time to time), all is well.

About Wilson

J. Wilson is an award-winning homebrewer, BJCP judge and pretty good dad. View all posts by Wilson

7 responses to “Day 9

  • Jerry Davison

    I just wanted to tell you I’m enjoying your posts and look forward to reading every day. I like the spiritual, mental, and physical aspects. I wish I could convince my boss and my wife that this was a great diet, but I’m thinking it wouldn’t fly! Take care.

  • Lola

    cool!
    sugerence: would be great a photo by week

  • John

    I’m amazed at your progress. Thanks for the updates they are inspiring.

  • Patrick Endres

    I am impressed with your commitment to a 40 day fast. I have been following your blog and just haven’t had time to respond. I am now doing my 6th 40 day fast. The first one was kind of scary because I did not know anyone who had done this. Now I am quite comfortable with it. I pray you grow spiritually through this experience. It sounds like you are getting a lot of press from curious people. This world knows nothing of fasting or giving up anything. We want to put ourselves on the throne and have all eyes on us. I am sure God is being honored for your commitment and follow through on your fast.
    Word of caution – break back into eating Very Slowly. I start with a few days of raw carrots, then salads, then fruits for about a week. Don’t eat too much of it either as you will be filled quickly. Stay off dairy for a couple weeks as that is most difficult to digest. Keep up the great work and the blog. God Bless.

  • Igor

    Greetings!
    I Russian, orthodox. I love beer and I love the Lent.

    In Russia it is a lot of news about you and your experiment. In Russia many your fans!
    We ask to inform, how your health.

  • John Nolan

    The Rituale Romanum has a blessing for beer, viz.

    BENEDICTIO CEREVESIAE

    V. Adjutorium nostrum in nomine Domini.
    R. Qui fecit caelum et terram.
    V. Dominus vobiscum. R. Et cum spiritu tuo.

    Oremus. Bene + dic, Domine, creaturam istam cerevesiae, quam ex adipe frumenti producere dignatus es: ut sit remedium salutare humano generi: et praesta per invocationem nominis tui sancti, ut, quicumque ex ea biberint, sanitatem corporis, et animae tutelam percipiant. Per Christum Dominum nostrum.
    R. Amen.

    [Et aspergatur aqua benedicta.]

    With regard to the final rubric, go easy on the holy water, Father!

  • Joe M

    J.
    Been following your blog since day one. Enjoy your posts and reading the comments. My favorite so far is Pastor Dick who called you Duke. I understand the initial fascination with the physical: hunger, headaches and weight loss – but let’s get on to the spiritual: what are you feeling on the inside?
    HJ

Leave a Reply

