Day 26

I’ve spent the last two days somewhat cloistered at Conception Abbey, in rural northwest Missouri. Here’s a short video from the abbey grounds. Enjoy!

About Wilson

J. Wilson is an award-winning homebrewer, BJCP judge and pretty good dad. View all posts by Wilson

4 responses to “Day 26

  • Amanda Borenstadt

    What a great place to be. Love the church bells in the background. God bless!🙂

  • Stephen

    What a soundscape. Peace.

  • Casey

    I understand how you feel, about how all those Catholic services seem a little rigid, and how it’s hard to see the Holy Spirit move. I’m not going to respond to you here, but I’m writing to ask you to please ask the monks about the manifestation of the Holy Spirit in their daily lives, in their Liturgy of the Hours, and their Mass. You might be surprised. Those rituals have to be explained in order to be appreciated. I used to feel the same way, but then crossed paths with people who had really good explanations for what was going on in the service, and it blew my mind.

  • Craig

    I was there for the entire Easter Triduum in 2002 while doing my graduate studies in theology (with a minor in monastic studies :-)). It is a fantastic place! Several people that I still call friends are monks there. You could not have chosen a better Benedictine monastery!

Leave a Reply

