Day 38

What was a fleeting thought in the afternoon yesterday, became my strategy; that is, I decided to do all my drinking by 6 p.m., as this is an exceedingly busy week for me at work and I needed to be well-rested when I showed up today.

This was no small task. Since I refilled my CO2 tank a couple of weeks ago, I decided to stop hauling the heavy beast back and forth from home to work and back each day. I’ve been toting growlers instead. And the day before yesterday I thought I had more on hand at the house than I did, and left myself lacking my new 7 a.m. breakfast beer (since I’ve decided to bump up to five beers every day). I arrived at work and poured myself a glass of morning sunshine, but didn’t have time to finish it–I had back-to back appointments which ruined my life until nearly 11 a.m. I punched back the dregs of beer number one when I hit my desk and found myself woefully behind. To finish by 6 p.m. and stay solid for work took effort.

I am a champion, however, and this goal was defeated like Bill Buckner in the 1986 World Series.

Weary, I snagged myself a two-hour nap, relaxed with my champion offspring while watching a movie, and then retired to my sleeping chamber with my champion wife. Parched, I took two sips of water between 6 p.m. and 10 p.m. Somehow, I had to use the facilities at 12:23 a.m. and again at 3:30 a.m., but those were welcome disruptions following my recent trend of four pees per night.

I awoke refreshed, pounded a tall glass of water and poured myself the breakfast of champions. Because that’s what I do now.

About Wilson

J. Wilson is an award-winning homebrewer, BJCP judge and pretty good dad. View all posts by Wilson

2 responses to “Day 38

  • Nick

    You’ve got a nice foundaton for cirrhosis going, or at least fatty liver, which you already most likely have.

    Anyways, good luck and keep up the good work. I’m not allowed to bring beer to work

  • David

    Nice going my friend, seems like food really brings some action into your life. You are just missing, not long to go now!!

Leave a Reply

